Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
The Eighth Day
Cover of The Eighth Day
The Eighth Day
The Eighth Day Series, Book 1
Fans of Percy Jackson will devour this first book in Dianne K. Salerni's time-bending series that combines exciting magic and pulse-pounding suspense. In this riveting fantasy adventure,...
Fans of Percy Jackson will devour this first book in Dianne K. Salerni's time-bending series that combines exciting magic and pulse-pounding suspense. In this riveting fantasy adventure,...
Available Formats-
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    0
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • Fans of Percy Jackson will devour this first book in Dianne K. Salerni's time-bending series that combines exciting magic and pulse-pounding suspense. In this riveting fantasy adventure, thirteen-year-old Jax Aubrey discovers a secret eighth day with roots tracing back to Arthurian legend.

    When Jax wakes up to a world without any people in it, he assumes it's the zombie apocalypse. But when he runs into his eighteen-year-old guardian, Riley Pendare, he learns that he's really in the eighth day—an extra day sandwiched between Wednesday and Thursday. Some people—like Jax and Riley—are Transitioners, able to live in all eight days, while others, including Evangeline, the elusive teenage girl who's been hiding in the house next door, exist only on this special day.

    And there's a reason Evangeline's hiding. She is a descendant of the powerful wizard Merlin, and there is a group of people who wish to use her in order to destroy the normal seven-day world and all who live in it. Torn between protecting his new friend and saving the entire human race from complete destruction, Jax is faced with an impossible choice. Even with an eighth day, time is running out.

    Stay tuned for The Inquisitor's Mark, the spellbinding second novel in the Eighth Day series!

About the Author-

  • Dianne K. Salerni attended the University of Delaware, where she earned her bachelor's degree in elementary education, and then went on to earn a master's in language arts education at the University of Pennsylvania. She was an elementary school teacher for over twenty years and has also written several books, including We Hear the Dead and The Caged Graves. The Inquisitor's Mark is the second book in the Eighth Day series. Although Dianne knows there's not really such a thing as a secret Eighth Day, discovering one would explain all the food that disappears in her house. Until then, she'll continue to blame her husband, Bob, her two teenage daughters, Gabrielle and Gina, and her dog, Sorcia. Dianne lives in Chester County, Pennsylvania.

Reviews-

  • DOGO Books lilrocks68 - This is a great story about a boy named Jax whose parents died. He now has to live with an 18 year old guardian named Riley who seems irresponsible to Jax. He falls asleep one Wednesday night and the next day, he wakes up and no one else is awake. He thinks that something is wrong until the next day at school, he realizes that it was Thursday, but how could there have been an extra day? The next day before Thursday but after Wednesday, he accidentally crashes into Riley! He then realizes that he is not the only one experiencing this extra day. Riley tells Jax that they are trying to protect a girl who is a descendent of the magician Merlin who created the 8th day. The girl only appears in the neighbor's house on the extra eighth day. There are people who want to get rid of the eighth day but need the girl, whose name Jax finds out later from herself is Evangeline, to help them get rid of the day. Jax, Riley, and his new friend will need to protect anyone from getting Evangeline and using her to get rid of the eighth day. Will they be able to do it? Find out by reading this book! :) This was a great story filled to the brim with suspense and anyone who liked the Percy Jackson series will absolutely love this! ***********Note: If any of you live in Florida, this is one of the books of the 2015-2016 schoolyear 6th-8th grade Sunshine State Standards book list.*********** :)
  • School Library Journal

    April 1, 2014

    Gr 5-7-Jax Aubrey wakes up one day to discover he is a Transitioner; a person gifted with an extra 24-hour day between Wednesday and Thursday. His guardian, Riley, is also a Transitioner, and begins to slowly introduce Jax to a secret world of magic and adventure. Jax soon realizes it's not all fun and games. Not all Transitioners are who and what they appear to be, and Riley is tasked with guarding the girl next door, a prisoner who only exists in this magical Eighth Day. The girl, Evangeline, is the key to rival Transitioners' plans to use the extra day to destroy the normal world. Only Riley, Jax, and their allies can hope to stop them. The Eighth Day is an interesting concept, and Salerni makes it work by having Jax learn, along with the reader, to navigate this extra day that is both fascinating and extremely dangerous. The concept melds Arthurian legend into present day in much the same way that Rick Riordan uses Greek and Egyptian mythology, with characters being descendents of heroes long thought to be folklore and their place in this world sometimes dependent on that lineage. There are a few points where the action stalls slightly, but in general the writing is fast paced and exciting. The story lends itself to further adventures and readers will be excited to follow Jax and eager to see what happens next.-Erik Knapp, Davis Library, Plano, TX

    Copyright 2014 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus Reviews (on The Eighth Day) "Ancient magic pairs nicely with modern intrigue. Complicated alliances and ruthless villains keep the pages turning. A promising start to a new trilogy."
  • Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) "[A] fast-paced, magical adventure. An unparalleled mix of evil villains, humor, and background that set this up for a likeable trilogy to be recommended for fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter. Absolutely necessary for middle grades."
  • School Library Journal "Fascinating...Melds Arthurian legend into present day. Fast paced and exciting."
  • ALA Booklist "Adventure, magic, and Arthurian legend combine in a roller-coaster ride of secrets. Perfect fodder for fans who adore mythology, legends, and series with more volumes yet to come."
  • The Nerdy Book Club "Suspense, stakes, and action. Enormously satisfying."
  • School Library Journal Praise for the The Inquisitor's Mark: "The concept and the characters are strong, and should continue to entertain its audience who will now eagerly await book three."

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
The Eighth Day
The Eighth Day
The Eighth Day Series, Book 1
Dianne K. Salerni
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
The Eighth Day
The Eighth Day
The Eighth Day Series, Book 1
Dianne K. Salerni
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close